Thank You

A broken love affair very seldom blossoms into a lifelong friendship: thank you.

I met you when I was broken in every part of my soul. I hung onto every word coming out your mouth as you prescribed unconditional trust in you as the cure to my ailing heart. I should have never listened to you and gave that part of myself to you because you were lying through your teeth. Thankfully, as it turns out, I couldn’t have asked for a nicer blessing in disguise.

I still dream of a man I hoped against hope you would be for me then: my protector, the provider, the gust of wind beneath my every flight. Looking back I see you have fulfilled that wish at different times in my life, sometimes in ways I couldn’t have ever imagined. We can be so silly sometimes, hellbent to confine love into a four-letter box, completely blind to its real superpower which is the power to be everything to all who believe in and need it. I needed love and it chose you as it’s next disguise.

Thank you for being open to the endless possibilities offered by love. Your sincere acts of love make me feel protected, provided for and fit to conquer the world. You listen when I am not watching out for it, never demanding that I be anything other than the best of who I am. In your quiet thoughtfulness, you impart your deep truths without imposing. Who could have imagined the two of us speaking to each other with no agenda, matters of the world around us our only concern?

What I want to say is that you mean the world to me and I will never let you down. I admire and love you in ways that cannot be explained, that exclude the superfluous notions of popular culture. What is love anyway, if not a free gift of the heart to another heart?

Well, thank you for teaching me that I love you better than I thought I would way back then. Your are the wish I blew the candle to receive.

Leave a Reply

